SOME THOUGHTS FOR CHELTENHAM – Champion Hurdle Day

Cheltenham Festival – first day – Tuesday 15th March 2016

1.30pm – Supreme Novices Hurdle – ‘Min’ 5/4, 3.30pm – Champion Hurdle – ‘Annie Power’ 9/4, – 4.10pm Mare’s Hurdle – ‘Vroum Vroum Mag’ 11/10

These 3 Willie Mullins/Rich Ricci  ‘Hotpots’ are all worthy favourites and therefore are betting minefields. I think they will all win! But remember last year when ‘Annie Power’ let’s us down in the mare’s final falling at the last, 6 lengths in the lead. Hence I am going to have £10 accumulator on these three! I am taking a chance on AP, but I think this is a very average champion hurdle. Hope ‘My Tent or Yours’ runs a big race! (10/1)

I shall be leaving ‘DOUVAN’ out of the equation. This is rumoured to be Ricci’s best horse of all time – praise indeed, but 1/3 is not a working man’s price in the Arkle – a NOVICE chase. So I shall enjoy just watching a bit of class in action.

The rest of the races are trappy and very competitive – so here are my tentative selections.

2.50pm – Festival Handicap Chase – ‘Holywell’ – 8/1, EW and ‘Southfield Theatre’ 16/1 and ‘Theatre World’ 14/1 both EW

5.00pm National Hunt Chase – ‘Minella Rocco’ 6/1 and ‘Southfield Royale’ 7/1

5.30pm – Festival Novices Handicap Chase – ‘Ballyalton’ 12/1 EW and ‘Thomas Brown’ 16/1 EW

Good luck! Please remember if I was a decent tipster I would not be still working!

Leave a Reply

